The start date for the 27th edition of the Dubai to Muscat Offshore Sailing Race has been scheduled for Thursday 28th February 2019. The Sailing Instructions for the 2019 race will be issued in September 2018 & will be available online  at:


Congratulations to Switchblade and Simon Reeves for first place IRC and Line Honours in the 2018 Dubai to Muscat Offshore Sailing Race. Switchblade ( a Beneteau First 36.7)  completed the course in a time of 3 days and 5 hours. The final hour involved an exciting tacking dual with Shahrazad, another First 36.7. Both yachts tacked along the Omani coast some 15 times in a close dual towards the finish line at Marina Bandar Al Rowdha. Full race results: 2018 Race Results Posted

In 2018 the Dubai to Muscat Offshore Race was available for the first time on VIRTUAL REGATTA   The virtual race was a hug success with 23,806 boats taking part. The winner of the virtual race to Muscat was the French flagged Irina VII..


The first offshore sailing race from Dubai to Muscat was held in 1992 by a group of enthusiastic sailors from Oman and the UAE. They departed into the blue unknown from Dubai International Marine Club with the anticipation of an exploratory adventure up the coast of the UAE, around the remote Mussandam peninsula and then skipping down the coast of Oman, hoping eventually to find somewhere to rest up around Muscat. With most of the boats under 30 ft in length, a slow passage was expected and various stop off points including the Wudam Navy base were scheduled to resupply and to rest up should the weather turn nasty before a final destination at the Al Bustan Hotel. Aquarius took line honours and is still sailing out of Dubai Offshore Sailing Club. A full account of the first race can be found in the history page or downloaded here:DUBAI MUSCAT RACE

Today the race is a competitive 360 mile offshore race, rated ‘ISAF Cat 3 with life raft’ featuring the largest and most skillful sailing teams in the region. The race is accredited by the Royal Ocean Racing Club (“RORC”) and features sailors of all nationalities from most corners of the world.

The 2016 edition was the 25th silver anniversary and featured the largest number of entries in the history of the event with 20 monohulls racing in IRC and club classes. It also encompassed the Sohar Education Programme, involving children from 5 GEMS Education schools.

The 26th edition of the Dubai to Muscat Race started from Dubai Offshore Sailing Club on March 8th 2018, the date having been moved from November, to better align the race with the offshore events calendar in the Mediterranean and Asian region. This edition saw the introduction of a Double Handed class for the first time, designed to challenge  our more experienced & adventurous competitors.


The 2 sides of the 2016 Dubai to Muscat Race

Atari-7 as IRC line honour winners

Congratulations to Atari 7 (Landmark 43), skippered by Hannes Waimer for their victory in the 25th anniversary Dubai to Muscat Sailing Race.


Omnia competing in Club Class and participating in the Sohar Educational Programme with students from 5 GEMS schools around Dubai


Highlights of the 2016 Dubai to Muscat Race


Celebrating 25 years of the Dubai to Muscat Race – Promotional Video


Video: Offshore Safety Training at Dubai Offshore Sailing Club – Sept 2016